Empties #3

empties3.jpg

As always when we do these Empties posts we each bring a bunch of empty products and shortly review them in no particular order. We just want to clear out that we are two persons with different skintypes. (J has combination/oily skin and E has super oily skin).
We try to be as clear as possible, but especially in these kinds of posts there can be some confusion since we don’t use the exactly same products and not always have the same opinions about certain products. 

empties3.2

Essence Matt Blotting Paper 5/5
Super affordable blotting paper sheets, perfect to throw in the bag and does work really well to get rid of excess oil during the day. I’m always stocking up on these when I walk past an Essence-shelf in some store.

NYX HD Finishing Powder 3,5/5
I otherwise liked this powder, but it was so finely milled that it was such a mess every time I opened the lid, powder was flying everywhere. Not for people with dry skin though, after applying on my very oily skin even I felt a bit dry.

Essence Colour Correcting Liquid Concealer 10 pastel pink 3,5/5
This concealer really brightens the under eye-area, I feel like it somehow also makes pores look smaller. I use it on my cupid’s bow as well to make it look more defined.

Essence Colour Correcting Liquid Concealer 30 pastel green 4/5
This one has been in our Empties posts before, I still like it, it covers redness well even though the product is pretty lightweight and I repurchase it every time I run out of it.

Essence Eyebrow Designer 3/5
A basic eyebrow pencil that does an ok job. I’ve used up quite a few of these and it’s really affordable. Good for doing quick, pretty natural brows.

Essence All About Matt Fixing Compact Powder 4,5/5
A very affordable translucent setting powder that I usually keep in my bag along with the blotting papers mentioned above. This particular design is from last years advent calendar and I think they’ve redone the packaging a bit quite recently.

Avon Mark Magix Prep And Set Spray 3/5
Another classic in the Empties series, a basic setting spray that does an ok job. I’m on my last bottle atm so I would really appreciate any tips on other affordable, great setting sprays.

Revlon Colorstay Makeup Combination/Oily 4/5
This foundation is kinda hard to put points on because when I first started using it I fell in love, I thought it was the best foundation ever. After a while I started to feel that it didn’t do anything for me and stopped using it. A few weeks ago I started using it again and now I like it, I wonder if it might be a seasonal issue with it because I think it was during the summer I didn’t like it and that’s when my skin is at its worst with oils and all that jazz.

Lavera Repair Lip Balm 4,5/5
A very “vegan-y” lip balm, I used it every night before bed and it effectively moisturized my lips throughout the night.

empties3.3

Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water in Oil 5/5
Still an absolute favourite of ours, easily removes most of the makeup when poured on a wet wipe and used before cleansing.

Philosophy Purity 3-in-1 Cleanser For Face And Eyes 3,5/5
A pretty basic cleanser that’s very kind to the skin, suitable for those with sensitive skin as well I think. I’m not a huge fan of this cleanser because I like to feel that my skin has been “deep-cleaned” and don’t mind using more heavy-duty cleansers.

Natura Siberica Sophora Japonica Night Cream 3/5
This was my second bottle of this night cream, I won’t buy it again even though it was pretty good because I’ve found better moisturizers for my skintype.

Natura Siberica Sophora Japonica Day Cream 2,5/5
I liked the night cream better than this, it felt like pores got clogged when using it and it didn’t mattify my face at all which is a pretty big deal to me.

empties3.4

Batiste Floral & Flirty Blush Dry Shampoo 3/5
We’ve used quite a few bottles of this dry shampoo over the years, it’s a pretty basic and not ideal for dark haired people, sometimes I feel like it makes my hair look kinda dusty and gray even though I brush it out as advised… I prefer the XXL Volume and Heavenly Volume ones instead of this.

Klippoteket Dry Shampoo 3/5
It was an overall ok dry shampoo, the smell was not too strong neither was it overly chemical. It gave my hair texture, though it was easy to almost overdo and apply too much product. Me being all blonde  did not have any problems with the colour but as a matter of fact my fellow crew member that happens to be quite a few shades darker than me, had a slight trouble with the product leavning traces. I used up this little bottle in 2 months.

2 thoughts on “Empties #3

Leave a comment